My Latest Sampler

I miss embroidery of late, so I dug out one of my unfinished samplers. I found it needs some serious finishing work. I was made from a commercial linen band that is supposed to be ready to use. But…. the drawn thread seams are already coming loose. So, I have no choice but sew around it again in drawn thread stitch. And believe me, these days I do have other passtimes than endless hours of mindless sewing. So, chances are I’ll use some fabric from my stash again next time, when I have to do this anyway I can as well save some money. Since TAST, the old one stitch a week challenge by Sharon Bogon, is on hold now and has been so for some time I’ll have to decide how to proceed, until I’m done with the drawn thread work I will just document what I already have done last year. So this is what the seam of this band looked like after embroidering the band normally. post11-5-15-2 and this is how it looks after working ordinary drawn thread stitch over it. By the way, here I have shown how to do this. post11-5-15-3 And now there is the first part of the sampler, after finishing work was done at this part. I know, this is one of the parts of the sampler you have seen before, but I want to show it from beginning to end this time. post11-5-15-1

Leave a Reply

