Linocut Disappointment

So I finally got round to printing my linocut plate and I’m not happy. It lacks balance and rhythm imho, and the flowers are too small and could have used some internal structure. I guess there’s more to printing than just doing it the way I did as a child.

I’ll have to research black and white graphics before trying this again.

linocut-paper-vw

One response to “Linocut Disappointment

  • Digby

    Hello, I think you’re being a little harsh on yourself! In my humble opinion your lino cut is pleasing and uncomplicated. I have returned to lino-cutting, which I first did at art school fifty years ago. I like the formalization that the technique forces you into. My advice is try letting the medium surprise you, rather than insisting on your own preconceptions of the image. Hope this helps. Good luck, Digby.

    Like

Leave a Reply

