sketchcrawl

Recently I read about sketchcrawl. The idea is that people arround the globe meet in their hometown (or where they happen to be at the moment) and sketch. Someone at munich was looking for others to sketch with, so I decided to give it a go. I met Karin, a fellow fiber artist, and we had a wonderful day, although it was bitter cold (arround -7 degree Celsius) and I had forgotten half my things at home. Heck, we even went buying a brush halfway through because I had brought water-soluble wax crayons but no brush!

Well, we met in a cafe at Odeonsplatz, that’s where I did the first two sketches. The coffee pot is wax crayons, the building is done in conte crayons.

page1-vw

On we went to Siegestor to do our only plain air sketch of the day. It was done in charcoal and brown crayon. It was so cold I thought my hands will fall off although I had fingerless cloves on.

page2-vw

After that we went buying a brush and then headed for the next cafe. We ate, talked a lot and sketched the amarylis on the table. The sketch is watersoluble wax crayons, overdrawn with ink pen. Then we decided to call it a day this time and go somewhere indoors for the next sktchcrawl we do.

page3-vw

Well, quick sketches are not exactly my strongest genre, but it was lots of fun. If you happen to read that and live near munich, please check out the sketchcrawl forum and join uns next time round. The more the merrier.

3 responses to “sketchcrawl

  • Lynda

    What a marvellous way to spend a day and your sketches are really very good.
    And where did I get the idea that you were from the USA ???

    Like

  • textiledreamer

    Hey, that’s a great idea, I wanna play, too! I didn’t know you’re from somewhere around here, but I’d be up for exploring Munich anytime. As for doing a sketchcrawl indoors, there’s a few places that might be interesting. I’d really like to spend a day sketching at the Deutsches Museum one of these days, for example.

    Like

  • tenar72

    Dear Lynda,
    And there I thought my grammar and spelling were dismal enough to mark me as a non-native speaker!

    Textiledreamer, sorry for responding so late! I will write you an email tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

