Samplers

Sharon has shown us many of her fabulous samplers in a few recent posts, and that has sparked much discussion elswhere. I do like samplers, although mine always end up looking more like doodlecloths like anything else, and rarely get finished due to me being so whimsical and haphazard. Here I show a little drawn thread sampler I did about 5 years ago when I was very interested in drawn thread work and lace. I got frustrated about it because I used cheap fabric that gets pulled out of shape very esiely. Those were fabric parts meant to crochet arround them, I bought a bunch of them and planned to sew them togeter forming a band sampler. I gave up on that because I had problems with the fabric quality and found out at home that most of the quarters were not cut along the fabric threads, which meant much waste. But looking at this one now, I do like it enough that I might finish it when I find the time.

drawn thread sampler

Leave a Reply

